JUNE 1st meeting – see you there

Hi every one we are back on track starting 1st of June

Holding our own meeting 1st June 2016!

Wow!! The year is flying by please join me at the new premises of rainbow youth.

11 Edinburugh Street   (Just off K Road)

Auckland

1010

New Zealand

We will as ususal  meet at close to at 6:30 as possible until about 8 / 830.

Please join us there are new parents keen on coming along who would value your experience and your history I know I can count on you to welcome them into our community of support and kindness.

Please let me know if there are specific issues you would like to chat about, if you have any new experiences or developments that might be helpful.  What changes have you experienced in the last month or two that you could share that will shed light for the rest of the group.  I look forward to seeing you next week , it’s been quite a break.

Just a couple of news stories in the media that I thought were worth sharing (first from the – Sydney Morning Herald on Stuff.co.nz  -Last updated 00:06, May 23 2016- the secondFamous @Live (Seven West Media) written by Tina B ) before I sign off, lets not kid ourselves the4se kids face huge discriminations and even when it is not direct, just hearing it twists a little fear into our hearts.  The messages of bring second rate are just unacceptable and we need to be speaking a positive message to all – we need to challenge the crap!

Lesbian couple arrested for kissing in Hawaii supermarket receive settlement

Screen Shot 2016-05-26 at 6.39.28 AM

A lesbian couple arrested after kissing and holding hands in a grocery store while on holiday in Hawaii will receive a US$80,000 (NZ$118,000) settlement after suing for discrimination and harassment.

Courtney Wilson and Taylor Guerrero were enjoying a romantic holiday in October last year when they were arrested after a police officer took offence at their public displays of affection inside a Foodland supermarket.

The couple, visiting Hawaii from Los Angeles, launched a civil lawsuit against the officer and the city of Honolulu.

The officer, Bobby Harrison, was shopping in his police uniform, when he noticed their behaviour and told them to “Take it somewhere else”.

READ MORE: Hawaiian cop arrests couple for kissing

The couple complied and continued shopping, but when Harrison noticed them showing affection again, he threatened to have them removed from the shop.

He went and found the store manager and asked for written trespass warnings to be issued to the couple.

Meanwhile, Wilson and Guerrero had taken their groceries to the checkout where they were waiting in line. When Harrison approached them and directed them to leave the queue, Wilson pulled out her mobile phone and began to call emergency services to report unlawful harassment.

Harrison then grabbed Wilson by the wrist, preventing her from completing the call. When Guerrero moved to calm the situation, Harrison threw her to the ground, striking Wilson in the process, and restrained both of them, according to the lawsuit.

The couple were arrested and charged with assault on an officer and spent three days in jail. According to their attorney, they spent the next week sleeping in a park because they spent their holiday budget on bail.

A court threw out the original assault charges. The couple subsequently dropped their charges against the city and the $118,000 settlement was agreed upon. It is expected to be formally approved by the Honolulu city council in July.

The couple, who are no longer together, said they now wish to move on.

“I’m glad it’s over, but at the same time, we wanted the officer to suffer some sort of repercussion,” Wilson said.

Harrison, who has since retired, was cleared by an internal police investigation.

 – Sydney Morning Herald

 

Second Article

THIS GUY’S TWEET ABOUT HAVING TO TAKE HIS BOYFRIEND TO PROM IN SECRET IS GOING VIRAL

The internet is loving Myren!  –  23 May 2016   |   Tina B

Screen Shot 2016-05-26 at 6.39.37 AM

High School student Myren is an international sensation today, after tweeting about his unconventional Prom experience.

Myren’s parents disapprove of his relationship with his boyfriend, and wouldn’t let him take his partner to Prom.

So, on Saturday night, Myren tweeted out to his followers about his experience.

“My parents told me I couldn’t go to prom because I wanted to go with my boyfriend so I had to go behind their backs 😅” he tweeted.

The tweet has gone viral, with over 17,000 retweets and nearly 40,000 likes.

In an interview with Buzzfeed, Myren revealed, “They wanted me to end things with him and they tried grounding me to keep us from talking, but no matter what we found a way to talk.”

“My dad said I knew better than to ask him. I knew I wouldn’t get a yes from them, but I thought maybe they would have a change of heart. They never did.”

The 17-year-old said he had nothing to lose by going against his parents wishes.

“My parents wont let me see him. It’s like I’m already living on punishment, so what do I have to lose by going to prom? Everyone’s mom was standing there taking pictures of their kids talking about how beautiful they looked and how they were so proud of them. I imagined what my mom would have looked like taking pictures of me in my suit. Everyone at the send off was a stranger to me except my boyfriend. None of his family came to his send off either.”

Screen Shot 2016-05-26 at 6.43.50 AM

He also said he was grateful for the support, “I was surprised when I noticed that people were proud of me and that they respected the decision I had made.”

Myren followed up the story with a tweet about his parents, saying “They think I went to an ashawo party.”

 

Regardless of his parents upsetting views, Myren had fun at his prom and claimed “When we were dancing together I teared up some because there were times where I never thought we would go to prom, but there we were.” 💜

 

Leave a Reply

